Australia (Oceania), 1883
Oceania is the name usually given to a fifth great division of the globe. It includes the vast number of islands lying to the south-east of Asia, and those in the Pacific Ocean. They are generally small, but very numerous, and comprise an area one-fifth larger than the whole of Europe. These islands are divided into Malaysia or the East Indian Archipelago, Australasia, and Polynesia. Malaysia comprises the numerous islands lying to the south-east of Asia. The principal are: Sumatra, Java, Borneo, Celebes, the Philippine Islands, the Moluccas or Spice Islands, Flores, Timor, etc. Australasia comprises the large islands of Australia, Tasmania, or Van Diemen's Land, New Zealand, and New Guinea, with a large number of smaller islands lying to the east of New Guinea and Australia.
Modern School Geography and Atlas, 1880


Amazon Ads

Top Cameras

Top Phones