North America, 1883
North America comprises the northern part of the continent of America, and is joined to South America by the Isthmus of Panama. It is bounded on the north by the Arctic Ocean; on the west by the Pacific Ocean; on the south by the Pacific Ocean and the Gulf of Mexico; and on the east by the Atlantic Ocean. Its surface is divided into four great regions by the grand chain of the Rocky Mountains, and the lesser chain of the Alleghanies; consisting of the northern slope towards the Arctic Ocean, the Pacific slope, the great central plain extending from the sources of the Mississippi to the Gulf of Mexico, and the eastern slope towards the Atlantic Ocean. North America is divided in to Danish America, Mexico, Dominion of Canada, United States of America, Central America, and West India Islands.
Modern School Geography and Atlas, 1880


Amazon Ads

Top Cameras

Top Phones