Families | Lands






The second largest continent, and the continent with the most countries, Africa is the largest of the three great southward projections from the main mass of the earth’s surface. Separated from Europe by the Mediterranean Sea, it is joined to Asia at its northeast extremity by the Isthmus of Suez. For geopolitical purposes, the Egyptian Sinai Peninsula is often included as part of Africa. The Romans gave the continent its name following the conquest of Carthage in 146 BC, probably naming it after the Afri tribe.

The fifty-four countries of Africa are: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
▻ Rulers, Statesmen, and Titleholders




About UC | Contact
© 2021 The Universal Compendium. All Rights Reserved.