The Grand Cross of the Order of Leopold of Belgium
Awarded to Dutch Prime Minister Willem Drees in 1949

The civil and military Order of Leopold was founded on 11 July 1832, and has been divided, since 1838, into five classes Knights of the Grand Cross, Grand Officers, Commanders, Officers and Knights. The nomination is made by the monarch, as Grand Master. Members of the two chambers who receive the order from other motives than merely military distinction are subject to a new election. The motto of the country, 'L'union fait la force ' (Union constitutes power) is also that of the order.


Amazon Ads